# 19 Dinners Alone

Instead of joining a welcoming diaspora that offers the same comforts as home, I live in a neighbourhood which impels me towards acknowledging other cultures in the new city that is starting to feel like home. While on an apartment hunt, I found out  that condos that are marketed to Asian buyers do not have floors ending with a ‘4’, as the spoken word for the number resonates with the Mandarin word for “death”! While Persians believe that the number ’13’ is bad luck. In some of the lifts that I took a ride in, buttons  for ‘4’, ’13’ and ’14’ were missing.

When I went out on a dinner alone on a cold night, I suddenly remembered how fun it was to eat out alone after ages. There was no need of chewing delicately or listening/making conversations.  Instead, the food and I had an amazing conversation.

It reminded me why I was in a new city in the first place. My decision to displace myself from my comfort zone and throw me at my dream. The high I get when I am alone with my thoughts in a muddle with only good food for company. The elation at having survived so far mixed with longing for homeland and all that I left behind.

I AM GRATEFUL FOR

The occasional dinners I take alone.

The occasional dinners I take alone that helps me get up and personal with my chosen food for the night.

The occasional dinners I take alone that helps me get up and personal with my chosen food for the night and  reassures me that I am fine being on my own.

 

dinner

 

3 thoughts on “# 19 Dinners Alone

Leave a Reply

